Can Twitter Help Us in Any Way as a Performance Engineering Team?

OK…so I have to admit I’m a bit of a luddite when it comes to social media. I hardly use Facebook and I sadly only had an account on Twitter that I used back in 2009 to see what people were writing about me at BbWorld. I think at one point I had 30 followers. I guess never posting in 2+ years will lead to a steep decline. I’m down to 4 followers. One doesn’t count because it’s my brother.

I was listening to the Freakonomics Podcast for last week. They talked about how they started a Twitter account and are following 0 people, but they are being followed by 279k Twitter users. Their subject sparked a curiosity in me to log back into Twitter and post a few times. My last post was “Curious about Blackboard Admins on 9.1 using the JVM options on Unix -XX:+UseNUMA -XX:+UseCompressedOops?” I’m hoping to hear from Bb admins as a chance to share our work and learn about customer’s ideas, pains, interests, possibly even do some recruiting (next post!).

What do you think? Should we have a strategy? Should we consider something beyond Twitter? Love to hear the team’s thoughts…

 

Leave a Reply

