The Most Important Database Statistic

Can’t believe in 2011 I’m asking myself to think back over the years as to what I deem the most important database statistic. I’m obviously talking about performance, scalability, capacity, etc…statistic. I guess not even talking about a statistic as I’m talking about a measurement. I’m a firm believer it’s Transactions/Second. It’s such a meaningful metric that can be converted to minute, hour, day, etc…It can also be studied over time-series data. Oracle has long since made this metric easy to capture and to visualize.

 

SQL Server has the Transaction/Sec counter on the sys.dm_os_performance_counters DMV. It looks like you have to select the metric at Time X, then select it again at Time Y. Determine the number of seconds that transpired between X and Y. Then use the following formula (Metric X – Metric Y)/(Time X – Time Y) = Transactions/Sec.

Thoughts people?

One thought on “The Most Important Database Statistic

  1. Robin

    Hi Seven Seconds: your blog came up when I asked Google about the most important database ever. Google had no answer to that, so it added the word ‘statistic’ and presented your blog as a suggestion. I already had the answer I wanted, but I wanted Google to agree with me. You see, I reckon the most important database is your own set of personal phone numbers. But I am writing about that at the moment, so I wanted the facts to fit the story. However, since I was in your neighbourhood, I wanted you to know that I read your definition of the most important database statistic ever with great interest and I think you’ve got it covered. Cheers wandagirl21

    Reply

Leave a Reply

