Thinking Clearly About Performance

One of my Performance Engineering hero’s is a guy named Cary Millsap. You all have seen me write about the guy many times over in my Confluence blog, personal blog and even on Twitter. His book back in 2003 totally changed my perspective on Forensics. It didn’t necessarily open my eyes, but at least gave me some credibility to my own approach. It also gave me something to point to in order to share with others about solid methodologies.

A while back, Cary wrote a couple of papers on the topic, “Thinking Clearly About Performance”. Mesfin even called it out and posted his two papers.

Why do I bring this up? Sometimes we need little reminders. Sometimes we forget the most basic principals. Sometimes it’s just good to look at things from the past, like an old photo album.

Leave a Reply

